Skip to content

Synchronizing Configuration Versions

Goal

Synchronize the configuration between a development and live site.

Prerequisite knowledge

Site prerequisites

  • You must have a development copy of your production site. See Making a Development Site.
  • The core Configuration Manager module must be installed on both the development and production sites. See Installing a Module for instructions on how to install core modules.
  • You must have changed configuration on either the production or development site (the source site), and want to synchronize the changes to the other site (the destination site). As an example, you can develop a new content type, fields, and views on your development site, and when it is all working correctly, deploy the changes to the live site.
  • All configuration that should not be synchronized between the source and destination sites must be stored in configuration overrides in the settings.php file rather than in the database. See Making a Development Site.

Steps

  1. In the source site, in the Manage administrative menu, navigate to Configuration > Development > Configuration synchronization > Export (admin/config/development/configuration/full/export).
  2. Click Export. Your site will generate an archive of the full site configuration. Save the file on your local computer.
  3. In the destination site, in the Manage administrative menu, navigate to Configuration > Development > Configuration synchronization > Import (admin/config/development/configuration/full/import).
  4. Browse to find the downloaded configuration archive, and click Upload. Your configuration archive will be uploaded to the destination site, and you will be redirected to the configuration Synchronize page (admin/config/development/configuration) with a message saying your files were uploaded.
  5. Verify that the differences shown on the page are what you expect. You may see configuration items that have been added, deleted, or changed; for changed items, you can click View differences to see what the changes are.
  6. When you are satisfied, click Import all to import the configuration changes.

Expand your understanding

  • If the changes you have made involve only one configuration item (such as one view), you can use the single configuration export/import feature to deploy the change between sites. See Deploying New Site Features.
  • After the step where you export the full configuration from the source site, you might also want to unpack the archive and commit it to a version control system, such as Git, to track changes in your site configuration. See Managing File and Configuration Revisions with Git.

Videos

Attributions

Written by Jennifer Hodgdon.